Coldplay have announced their new album will contain only nine songs and could be released in just a few months. The British band are convinced they have such a strong collection of tracks for their fourth studio album that some "great" songs will have to be left off. In a posting on their website, the group - Chris Martin, Johnny Buckland, Guy Berryman and Will Champion - admit they have been arguing about which tracks will make the final cut.They wrote: "We're still a few months from finishing, but already the arguments about track listing have begun. The plan has always been to make a short record. No more than 42 minutes and nine songs."Expect a short, concise record with no fat and at least two top-division songs released independently."Songs being considered for the LP include 'Lost!', 'Cemeteries Of London', 'Violet Hill', 'Poppy Fields', '42', 'Yes!', 'Leftrightleftrightleft' and 'Rainy Day'.The band signed their blog entry 'Prospekt', which has previously been rumoured to be the title for the album.Coldplay's first three records, 'Parachutes', 'A Rush of Blood to the Head' and 'X+Y', have sold over 30 million copies between them worldwide.