Photos By: Patrick McMullan

Jean Shafiroff In Fashion

Jean Shafiroff And Elsie McCabe Thompson

Madame Gilberte Beaux With Jean Shafiroff And Ava Roosevelt

New York, N.Y.– Author and Philanthropist Jean Shafiroff and Martin Shafiroff hosted a reception on the Upper East Side on Tuesday, February 27, 2018 to celebrate New York City Mission Society’s annual Champions for Children Gala, which raises funds to support youth and families in our city’s most under served communities to break the cycle of poverty and achieve success.

Lee Fryd With Lisa Konsker And Randi Schatz

 This year’s honorees are BNY Mellon, International Flavors and Fragrances, and LTC Francis Kairson, Jr., Director Emeritus at New York City Mission Society. WABC News Anchor Bill Ritter, a longtime supporter of the Mission Society, will emcee the event. This year’s Gala Chairs are Katrina and Don Peebles, Leah and Stanley H. Rumbough, and Jean and Martin Shafiroff. 

Jean & Martin Shafiroff With Ignacio Bustindui And Ariadna Bustindui

Sophia Skalli With Lucia Hwong Gordon And Katlean de Monchy

Honorary Chairs are Georgina Bloomberg and Fiona and Stanley Druckenmiller, and Corporate Chairs are Kramer Levin Naftalis & Frankel LLP, MacFarlane Partners, and Stifel Financial Corp. The Gala will be held on Tuesday, April 24 at the Mandarin Oriental at 80 Columbus Circle in Manhattan, starting with cocktails at 6:30 PM followed by a 7:30 PM dinner and program, music and dance. To purchase tickets to the event and learn about sponsorship opportunities, visit here

Helen Shelton With Beautiful Mom Sylvina Shelton

Donald & Barbara Tober
In addition to Jean Shafiroff, Martin Shafiroff, and New York City Mission Society President Elsie McCabe Thompson, attending the kickoff party were: Francis Kairson; Jay Moorhead; Kim Bingham; Ava Roosevelt; Francine LeFrak and Rick Freiberg; Cece and Lee Black; Barbara and Donald Tober; Margo Langenberg; Alex Donner and Annette De Lorenzo; Ann Rapp; Roy Kean; Lucia Hwong Gordon; Craig Dix; Natalie Ross; Laurence Kaiser IV; Penny Grant, M.D.; Patrick Vatel; D. Colgate Rumbough; Natasha Das; Taylor Burns; Jerry Bonura; Kenita Lloyd; Chasity Logan; Randi Schatz; Lee Fryd;  Dawne Marie Grannum; Gary Rombough, MD; Rachel Atcheson; Ernest Schmatolla; and Helen C. Shelton and Sylvina Shelton; Darold Cuba; Victor de Souza; Katlean DeMonchy; Ray Bouderau ; Michele Herbert; Ariadna Vera and Ignacio Bustindui; Madame Gilberte Beaux; Ignacio Bustindui and Ariadna Vera Bustindui. 

Ann Rapp With Roy Kean

Chasity Logan
The Gala Co-Chairs for this year’s Benefit Committee includes: Alton Bird LLP; Flo Anthony; Elaine Appelle; American Securities Foundation; Aronson LLP; Astor Title Services LLC; Elena Ayot; Peggy and John Bader; Sophia Bishop; Tony Bowles; Jerry Bonura; Ray Bounderau; Taylor Burns; Deutsche Bank; Craig Dix; Douglas Elliman; Veronica Dunlap; Goodwin; Dawn Marie Grannum; Penny Grant, M.D.; Shannon J. Hales; Michele Herbert; Laurence Kaiser IV; Landmark Partners; Margo Langenberg; Lincoln Land Services; Living the Dream Films; Connie & John Morgan; Missy Kilroy and Jay Moorhead; Lauren and James Peterson; Philips International; Gary Rombough, M.D.; D. Colgate Rumbough; Natalie S. Ross; Jane Scher; Patricia Shiah; Helen C. Shelton; Brooke and Derek Steinhiser; Karina Tatarski; Barbara Tober; Trachtenberg Rodes Friedberg LLP; Patrick Vatel; Tanja Drieding Wallace; and, Lori Zelenko. 

About the New York City Mission Society

The New York City Mission Society has been on the front lines of the war on poverty for more than 200 years. Today, our progressive portfolio of educational, workforce development, cultural enrichment, and community-building programs, make a positive, long-term impact on the City’s most under served communities by promoting academic achievement, and providing career opportunities and cultural enrichment. Each year, we serve more than 10,000 children and families throughout New York City with our programs, supportive services, and community events.