The 17th Annual Hofstra Gala

 Dr. Lawrence Herbert

Michele Herbert

Dr. Mindy Fried And Dr. Arno Fried

Kristin And John Miller

More than 700 guests attended the 17th Annual Hofstra Gala honoring Dr. Lawrence Herbert ’51, held Thursday, May 2, 2013 at an elegantly transformed David S. Mack Sports and Exhibition Complex, North Campus. 

Dr. Herbert is the inventor of the Pantone® Matching System® and former chairman and CEO of Pantone®, Inc. The Gala, which last night raised over $900,000 for student scholarships, recognizes the University’s top faculty, as voted by students. The Gala cocktail reception began at 7 p.m., followed by dinner and dancing at 8 p.m. 

Dr. Herbert earned a Bachelor of Arts in biology and chemistry from Hofstra University in 1951. He joined Pantone in 1956 as a color matcher, and bought the company in 1962. In 1963, he invented the world-renowned Pantone® Matching System® that has become the standard for global communication of color in the printing, publishing, packaging, graphic arts, paint, plastics, coatings, computer, film, video, textile, and fashion industries. 

Dr. Herbert has been a generous supporter of the University, as well as a former member of the Board of Trustees who served as vice chairman from 1982 to 1986. He is the benefactor of the Lawrence Herbert Distinguished Professorship at the University.

Hofstra’s 2013 Teachers of the Year were also recognized at the Gala. Every March, graduating students are invited to vote online for the professors they feel are most deserving of recognition as distinguished teachers. All faculty members who have taught a minimum of three full years at Hofstra are eligible for the Teacher of the Year award.

This year’s recipients were:

• School of Communication: Mary Ann Allison, Ph.D., Associate Professor, Journalism, Media Studies and Public Relations

• School of Engineering and Applied Science: Xiang Fu, Ph.D., Associate Professor, Computer Science

• Hofstra College of Liberal Arts and Sciences: Robert P. Guttmann, Ph.D., Professor, Economics
• Health Sciences and Human Services: Corinne M. Kyriacou, Ph.D., Associate Professor, Health Professions

• School of Education: Maureen O. Murphy, Ph.D., Professor, Teaching, Literacy and Leadership
• Frank G. Zarb School of Business: Glen M. Vogel, J.D., Assistant Professor, Accounting, Taxation and Legal Studies in Business

• Maurice A. Deane School of Law: Juliana Campagna, J.D., Associate Professor of Legal Writing
• Hofstra North Shore-LIJ School of Medicine: Dr. David E. Elkowitz, Assistant Professor, Department of Science Education and Pathology and Laboratory Medicine.

Guests attending the Hofstra Gala arrived in black tie attire. General admission tickets were $400 each with VIP tickets and preferred seating tickets also available. Members of the Hofstra community and G.O.L.D. (Graduates of the Last Decade) were able to purchase up to two tickets at a reduced rate of $200 each. For further information, please visit www.hofstragala.com


Hofstra University is a dynamic private institution of higher education where more than 11,000 full and part-time students choose from undergraduate and graduate offerings in liberal arts and sciences, business, engineering, applied science, communication, education, health sciences and human services, honors studies, the Maurice A. Deane School of Law and the Hofstra North Shore-LIJ School of Medicine.

Photos By: Patrick McMullan