Cuba Gooding Jr.

In celebration of Black History month, the Eye on Black salute with CENTRIC Network announces presenters for the 2012 presentation Academy Awards weekend. Honoring acclaimed Directors of the Black film revolution, Cuba Gooding, Jr., Tim Allen, Luke Wilson, Nia Long, Evan Ross, Macy Gray, CCH Pounder, and Khalil Kain have all been confirmed to present to the dais of film pioneers. More names will be announced in the coming weeks. The special salute will honor MARTIN LAWRENCE, CHRIS ROBINSON, and HAILE GERIMA, with a special spotlight on the careers of Bill Duke and rising Director Ava DuVernay. The 2012 Eye on Black is presented by Anheuser Busch, CENTRIC Network, Brock Beauty, and Sizzler set for FRIDAY, FEBRUARY 24th, 2012 at the legendary Park Plaza Hotel in Downtown Los Angeles.

Presenters will salute the panel of distinguished directors by highlighting turn-key moments in the honorees body of work that solidified their contributions to black cinema. Concluding the evening, legendary director, philanthropist, choreographer, and pioneer in black television DEBBIE ALLEN will receive the 2012 Melvin Van Peebles Lifetime Achievement Award.

Guests of the 2011 salute included: Sidney Poitier, Keenen Ivory Wayans, Robert Townsend, Kim Wayans, Congresswoman Maxine Waters, Gabrielle Union, Beverly Johnson, Damon Wayans, Phylicia Rashad, Della Reese, Viola Davis, Mario Van Peebles, Melvin Van Peebles, Lalah Hathaway, Lynn Whitfield, Lance Gross and more.

This salute is expected to boast an A-list celebrity guest-list as well as corporate and entertainment insiders. A portion of all proceeds will be donated to the Melvin Van Peebles Foundation.

Photo By: RD/Kirkland/Retna